Sponsored by: DP Tuner

2003 7.3L P1316 Code Nothing Works

Search this Thread

Old 06-28-2013, 07:46 PM
Sharonl12
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
2003 7.3L P1316 Code Nothing Works

Ok I am desperate now and broke. My truck started running rough and lost all power with no warning. SEL came on code P1316. Code P0470. Took it to a mechanic as I am not really good with a wrench. He replaced the passenger side Valve cover gasket with a new one with all new wires and connectors. Didn't fix it. He then installed a manufactured IDM, Didn't fix it. He then did the Drivers side Valve cover gasket with the same new wires and connectors. Still not fixed.
It is acting a little different. Now if you shut it off let it sit just a few minutes restart it sounds awesome, take off runs good for about 2 - 3 mins. Then starts running rough and looses power. Took it to Auto Zone got the exact same codes P1316 and P0470. Any ideas?

Old 06-28-2013, 09:10 PM
BigAlsPSD
Post Fiend
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
The P1316 is really just a generic code that there is an issue with the injector wiring or IDM and that the IDM has stored codes.

Usually if you perform a KOEO selftest or BUZZ test before clearing the memory codes it will pull the stored codes from the IDM.

I would inspect the wiring near the 42 pin connector going over the DS valve cover and near the front lifting eye for possible chaffing, as well as near the DS shock tower.

Beyond that further diagnostics or inspection would be required. You might have bad wiring on the injector harness itself under the VC's or injector solenoids that might be taking out a bank or injector itself.

Old 06-28-2013, 09:18 PM
Sharonl12
New User
Thank you. I will try to locate the wires you are speaking of tomorrow. The guy who worked on it is suppose to see if he can borrow the machine to check it with also. We just put all new valve cover gaskets with the new wires on both sides.

Old 06-28-2013, 09:43 PM
F350-6
Post Fiend