Pre-Power Stroke Diesel (7.3L IDI & 6.9L) Diesel Topics Only

My first post. New to auto work, new to diesel engines. ect...

Search this Thread

Old 05-14-2013, 12:38 AM
LucyRydermusic
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
My first post. New to auto work, new to diesel engines. ect...

Hello Ford fellas. I joined this forum for your expert opinions and general knowledge. Diagnostic help, tips and tricks.

Here's the story: I just purchased a 1991 Ford F 350 Superduty XL 7.3L idi Ambulance. I'm using the vehicle to take my band on tour. Also I plan on living in it for a while. This is my first time ever having a truck worth working on. I just finished changing the oil on a few hours ago. First oil change done by myself ever too. That should give you an idea of my mechanical expertise. Not much there.

The truck was no start when I bought it. ($1500 by the way. Not bad for a full ambulance right?) Hadn't been started in well over a year. Put new batteries in it. Still no start. Seller said it had a bad starter solenoid so I bridged the terminals on the relay with a wrench and after a little cranking the beast fired up. Before we could drive it home the thing needed a little power steering fluid but after that it drove ok for the ten mile trip home.