Installing my new engine parts

Search this Thread

Old 01-12-2013, 09:40 AM
evilci
Junior User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Installing my new engine parts

Part 1
Well I've been having issues with my engine dieseling, so instead of messing with my old stuff I figured this was my motivation to start installing new parts. I'll be putting in an offy intake manifold, hedman headers, and a 500cfm edelbrock carb.

So, this is where I begin, and I'll keep updating as it goes. I'm a newbie when it comes to pretty much all of this so it'll be slow moving. Here's a picture of my engine before I've really done anything short of replacing vacuum lines and a shiny fuel filter.

Now as you can see, the corrosion in here is pretty nasty, and so far this has been my biggest problem.

Here's the carb out and sitting on my porch

And finally here's where I unfortunately have to stop for the day. Stuck on trying to get the EGR out. If you can see the little red arrow I can't get the damned pipe off.

So I'll keep this updated as I go and I'm sure I'll have more questions once I try to get it started. Any tips or tricks anyone has learned trying to get this done before are always appreciated.

Old 01-12-2013, 09:47 AM
AbandonedBronco
Received 80 Likes on 73 Posts
Hi, and welcome to the forums!
Looks like you've got a fun project ahead of you. Fortunately, it's been done many times so there'll be plenty of help, should you need it.

As for the EGR pipe, don't worry about it at all. Just unbolt the intake/exhaust manifolds and take the whole thing out in one piece. It'll be heavy, but it's all connected to itself. You won't be needing it again.

Old 01-12-2013, 09:56 AM
evilci
Junior User