Pre-Power Stroke Diesel (7.3L IDI & 6.9L) Diesel Topics Only

Flooding?

Search this Thread

Old 11-14-2012, 12:05 AM
Opossum
Postmaster
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Flooding?

Can ya flood a diesel? So I'm still new to the day in and day out of owning an old diesel. Getting it started I was giving it a lot of throttle, cause that's what I was told to do and what the visor says. But the other day I had a hard time starting it, and when I let off the throttle it started. Today it started really easy with amost no throttle. So what's the deal, what works best, can too much fuel keep it from starting, etc?

Old 11-14-2012, 12:20 AM
akamacgyver
Clueless spectator!
Received 4 Likes on 2 Posts
The visor says to give it throttle?!?

Here is what I have always heard, and how both my trucks start perfectly every time.

Key on, wait for WTS light to go out. This should take 8 to 12 seconds at least with a healthy GP system. Depending on how cold it is outside you can depress the pedal to the floor to set fast Idle (this works on one of my trucks, the other always fast idles when cold) with no pedal at all turn key to start position. Both trucks roar to life it 1 to 3 seconds with no pedal at all every time. I'm going to take a vid. in the A.M. For another thread, I'll link it.

Give it a try.

Mac.

Old 11-14-2012, 12:56 AM
Opossum
Postmaster
Originally Posted by akamacgyver
The visor says to give it throttle?!?
Yup says half throttle over 32deg, full throttle under 32deg

How would more fuel keep it from firing?

Old 11-14-2012, 01:11 AM
joshofalltrades
Postmaster
my visor says the same thing yours does, though i find that i don't need to give it throttle, and it roars to life in less than a second cold. warm i usually have to crank for a full second before it catches.
i don't know why letting off the throttle allows yours to start, that seems odd to me.