Notices
1987 - 1996 F150 & Larger F-Series Trucks 1987 - 1996 Ford F-150, F-250, F-350 and larger pickups - including the 1997 heavy-duty F250/F350+ trucks
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Mystery E40D Issue

Search this Thread

Old 06-01-2012, 10:04 PM
kenko
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Unhappy Mystery E40D Issue

Hi everyone, I'm totally new to this form so I'll take your beatings as necessary. I will mention that I did try and search for my problem, but I'm either bad at searching or this hasn't happened before (most likely the former). My truck is a bone stock 1994 Ford F-150 Regular cab, Longbed, L6 4.9l, E40D automatic transmission w/ 4wd. 239,000 miles with no rebuilds to my knowledge.

SO, I'm driving from Boise, ID to Portland, OR and I hear this sound that I can only describe as being a very large zipper, zipping very quickly. It was louder than my music, and as a young'n, that's pretty loud. I pull over at the nearest stop in Boardman, OR to check underneath. As I slow down, I start to hear a squeaking and a tapping sound at low speeds. I check underneath and I'm starting to leak a little transmission fluid, and a little transfer case gear oil, but I'm talking about drips at a time and no clear visible damage to the underside of my truck. I decided that I should move the truck to a flatter area, throw it on some jack stands (I happen to have all my tools with me) and take a look underneath.

I start my truck, and as I put it into reverse it makes a sound like I just threw an iPhone down a garbage disposal. Seriously horrible metal on metal destruction occurring below me. So I get the truck towed to Portland via a combination of AAA and Craigslist and I showed both drivers that towed me the sound of this metal carnage.