1987 Ford Ranger Problems

Search this Thread

Old 04-19-2012, 11:31 AM
Diana33
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
1987 Ford Ranger Problems

Hello

I am new to the forum and have joined hoping to get some answers to a problem we have with our 87 Ford Ranger.

The truck belongs to my husband but since he cannot write in English I will try my best to explain the problem.

First of all let me state that we have asked tons of professionals in our area and they cannot seem to solve the issue. Also, I am no professional in auto parts and my English is not that good either so if I make a mistake on trying to explain please excuse me.

Some time ago the clutch suddenly started feeling very soft, but only at times, then it would automatically harden up again, and well, we continued to use the truck like that for a while..

Shortly after this problem started (a few days or so) we were on the road and the clutch stopped functioning, it got soft again and we could not continue driving so we pulled over and noticed that all the fluid had leaked out some how, and the little cylinder that contains the fluid was empty so we bought some more fluid and refilled it.

That did not solve the problem, so we towed the truck home and consulted a professional. After having a look, the professional stated that we may need to change the the slave cylinder so we purchased it, installed it, we did the bleeding and still nothing.

We once again consulted the professional and this next time he stated that we purchase the other cylinder (here where we live one of the cylinders is known as the slave cylinder and the other as the master cylinder) so I hope I am exaplining myself when reffering to the two cylinders.

Anyway's we purchased and changed both cylinders and did all the bleeding process once again and still nothing. We do notice that after doing the bleeding the clutch will get semi hard. We turn on the truck it will advance in first and then the clutch will get soft again.