Sponsored by: Moser

75 f250 highboy lift kit

Search this Thread

Old 01-04-2011, 11:31 PM
Importcrusher
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Talking 75 f250 highboy lift kit

Hey guys Im new to site and have been browsin for couple months, but got a question. Instead of spending the 1200 on a four inch lift whats the alternate route to get hieght. Something about superduty springs? dont understand the full concept. Can u you guys give the new guy a little advise. Thanks

Old 01-04-2011, 11:46 PM
77&79F250
Moderator & parts seller
Received 3,288 Likes on 2,444 Posts
Here is a compilation from a fellow FTE Super Duty spring lift GURU for the front and rear.
I am still gathering parts.......thanks ED aka F350 l

For the front it only takes a little bit of work, and over the years I have streamlined this process, and worked out some of the small bugs.
The leaf spring bushings are slightly larger than the original hanger, so grinding the bushing down is a reasonable solution. This only has to be done to the front of the spring. For the rear, I relaced the pivot bushings, and used an off the shelp toyota poly bushing used in 80's era 4x4's. These bushings had to be modified a little to fit, but worked perfectly.
By taking a small torch to the old bushings, they popped right out, and left a small metal insert in the pivot itself. I was able to leave this in there and not fight it to remove. This can be tough to remove while the pivot is still in the truck.
By taking about 10 thousandths off of the bushing itself, it went in with little trouble. This is almost a perfect fit. Then I lubed up the metal insert, and viola, it is the same width as the spring bushing, and a perfect fit.
Front end is done, and everything lines up.
Oh, if the leaf is equipped with a military wrap design, it may jave to be either cut or removed to fit the smaller hanger of the highboy. Later 78/9 bolt on hangers are larger and fit the military wrap leaf.