1994.5 - 1997 7.3L Power Stroke Diesel  

Wiring harness fire near glowplug relay

Search this Thread

Old 05-05-2024, 06:39 PM
baxter2175
4wd Low
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Wiring harness fire near glowplug relay

Hey people, I'm new at this, sorry. My truck is a 1997 F250 7.3 diesel with 188,000 mi on it is fully stock, I'm the second owner, I have replaced the glow plugs, valve cover,and the under harness on the driver side all most a year ago. Last week after work I had the key on checking the turn signal flasher, I smelled hot wires a puff of black smoke. I turn off the key, open the hood, and its on fire, I put water on it, and fire is out. The fire was next to the glow plug relay fuel bowl behind the alternator. The small wires that turn on the relay are pretty burned up, all of the rest of the larger look ok just little heated. If I jump the relay it does work, doesn't make more smoke. I cut back the harness, and taped up any bare wires. The truck will not start, I'm just trying to get it home. Looks like I will be replacing the main harness, any thoughts out there? best place to get the right harness, and could this have harmed the PCM/injector module? I still have not figured out what wire caused the fire. This is my first diesel truck.
Thanks for your help.

Old 05-06-2024, 12:04 AM
BuckHammer
Cargo Master

Received 72 Likes on 56 Posts
Did you find out what actually caused the fire yet? I might worry about installing a new harness only to have it catch fire, too. RiffRaff sells harnesses, and they're good to deal with.

For your no start condition, does the engine crank when you try to start it? Are there any fuses that are blown? Can you tell if any wires are severed or damaged, especially in the area of the fire?

Old 05-07-2024, 05:32 PM
baxter2175
4wd Low