Excursion - King of SUVs 2000 - 2005 Ford Excursion
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

I want more HP... want to help? (update: 4.88 gears)

Search this Thread

Old 01-22-2019, 04:19 PM
BatteriesNotIncluded
Senior User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
I want more HP... want to help? (update: 4.88 gears)

I'm a brand new Excursion owner. What a truck. It's my first truck. I'm new to the US (from the UK) and I decided my introduction to owning a truck should be with the Excursion. I can confidently say I made the right choice. Especially upgrading from a 2.2 diesel - which is pretty large by UK auto standards!

My Excursion is a 2003 6.8L V-10. It's stock all round, far as I can tell. Previous owner was a dentist, apparently.

Now I'll openly admit, I'm not a clued up man when it comes to what I need to make my request happen - but I do my homework, it's what led me here. First, a little debrief on me: I like power. I don't tow (not regular anyway). I do a fair bit of town driving but almost matched by highway miles. The Excursion is a beast, but what can I do to make it even better?

To my knowledge, then, I know it's probably best to start with a cold air intake, muffler/y exhaust system, EGR delete, SCT street tune (5Star?)

Here's my real question(s): where can I go in Minneapolis to make this happen under one roof? More specifically, is the above what I should be pursuing? If so, what is the estimate in your experience? If not, what is?

I thank you all in advance.

Old 01-22-2019, 05:36 PM
rock2610d
Fleet Mechanic
Received 15 Likes on 12 Posts
Unless you live above 3200 rpm exhaust upgrades are a waste of money, as is cold air intakes.

I suggest a performance valve body for transmission, 5 star tune, and a torque converter that is matched to the type of driving you do.

Injectors and fuel pump limit max hp at about 350 hp. No amount of air intake or exhaust work will exceed those numbers.

A turbo will definatelly help as would a supercharger.