E4od problems

Search this Thread

Old 12-02-2018, 07:01 AM
Sam Ve
Mountain Pass
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
E4od problems

Hey guy! I know I haven't posted in a long time and it's usually because if I've got any problems I can find the answers that have been posted already ya'll do a great job
Now, a few months ago I bought a 93 F-59 with a 7.3 and a E4od transmission. It's a completely different critter than my 96 powerstroke with the 5 speed so I'm still learning about it
Anyway, the transmission suddenly decided to act stupid on me, came out of Lowe's jumped in cranked it and there's no drive Wants to pull but doesn't. Checked the fluid, looks good, not burnt and full Crank it back up and discover I can get it to go by manually shifting I think it maybe in limp mode not 100% sure about that. It'll still get to 55-60 without high rpms
​​​​​​I put code reader on it yesterday only code 10 and 11 and no flashing o/d light So I'm thinking perhaps the computer can't read if there's an issue in the output side, that's just a guess, so I decided to take the readings at the connector at the transmission When I pulled the connector apart it was soaked in fluid so I ordered a new coil pack which will take about a week to get
In the meantime I've been reading a lot of other threads about this and everyone reported having codes and /or flashing o/d light. I don't have either
My question is do you think I've found the problem or do I need to keep looking for another problem too? Could the fluid had been shorting the connector out tricking the computer maybe ? I don't know, just seems odd and I'm wondering if I'm missing something
Thanks for your advice guys

Old 12-02-2018, 07:44 AM
Mark Kovalsky
Fleet Owner

Received 1,599 Likes on 1,072 Posts
Originally Posted by Sam Ve
there's no drive Wants to pull but doesn't.