Newbie questions on starting etc

Search this Thread

Old 09-09-2010, 08:42 PM
wildmand
Freshman User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Newbie questions on starting etc

Hi guys:

I'm new to diesels, I bought my first 3 weeks ago (1991 4wd 5 speed non turbo 125K miles, straight stock as far as I know) and truly love this truck. My previous 34 years of driving have been gas only.

Here I go...

When I start her I wait for the WTS light to go off (8 seconds)then turn her over. When cold she starts after a couple of turns and runs a bit rough for about 2-3 seconds then smooths out. There's a bit of grey smoke right when she starts, but otherwise she runs totally clean. The glow plugs keep cycling for about 10 seconds or so after startup. It's about 55*F outside. When warm she starts first turn and runs smooth.

Should I be pushing on the throttle a bit to start? If so how much? I haven't been. My last truck had a 5l gas efi motor, so I just started it without any throttle

I've noticed she Idles low (600) when she first starts. When warm the idle speed is around 700-750. The oil is 3500km (2?00 miles) old so it isnt like the oil is shot. Any thoughts on this?

Is it good to let her idle after startup and if so for how long? After startup I usually idle for about a a minute. Should I then drive her gently ( say max 1600 rpm) and let her warm up, or should I try to warm her up faster?

I know there are a pile of different questions here, and I have more where they come from. Like I said I am really new to this and any help would be appreciated.

Cheers

Dale

Great website by the way.

Old 09-09-2010, 09:08 PM
farmert
Logistics Pro
Received 518 Likes on 252 Posts