Sponsored by: DP Tuner

Oil leak

Search this Thread

Old 02-03-2003, 11:14 AM
rmilchman
Elder User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Oil leak

I have a 2002 with 14000 miles on it that just developed an oil leak. The dealer is saying the cause is too much oil (last changed at 10000). He then went on about depending on the temperature it varies how much you should put in, and that you can not totally rely on the dip stick. I’ve been changing my own oil in gas engines for 15 years and never had a problem, this is my first diesel. Does what the dealer is saying make sense?

Old 02-03-2003, 11:26 AM
argve
Senior User
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Oil leak

I think that he is pulling your leg.

What I would is take your owners manual and associated folder in to him. Lay it out in front of him and ask him to show you this in the paper work issued by FORD. What him squirm.
Yes you can over fill these or any engine with too much oil. The procedure that I use is I fill with a quart or so less than what the book calls for then run the truck for a few minutes to warm the oil a bit, shut her down, then wait for about 1 beer, then stab the oil. I do this so that the oil will have a chance to drain down to the pan so that maybe I get a better reading. Then top off if needed. During normal checks, I stab it before I start the truck for the day, this way I know that every thing has drained to the pan.

I don't know if my procedure is correct but to me it makes sense.

Me thinks he's making excuses.

Old 02-03-2003, 12:11 PM
basstardo
Laughing Gas
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Oil leak

I went through a pretty good oil leak fiasco myself. Check out these two threads below. There is some good information in there. I would check the things listed in there first. Especially the HPP.

https://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/s...threadid=22637

https://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/s...threadid=22651