1948 - 1956 F1, F100 & Larger F-Series Trucks Discuss the Fat Fendered and Classic Ford Trucks

Dash lights not working

Search this Thread

Old 04-18-2010, 04:47 PM
Steves55
Senior User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Talking Dash lights not working

Hello all. I just got my 55 F-100 the other day and now it's time to start working out some of the bugs-the first one being the dash lights. Since I pulled the bulbs and they look good, that rules out the simple fix. One thing I didn't do and probably should have was put a test light on the socket to see if its receiving and juice. Since the shaft on the light switch turns, I'm assuming this controls the brightness? Could this be possibly causing the problem? Since I'm new to the world of classic trucks I may have a few other questions-hopefully they won't be too dumb. Hopefully the shop manual that I ordered a few days ago wll be here soon to help me along. Appreciate any troubleshooting tips anyone can offer on the dash lights. Thanks!

Old 04-19-2010, 03:17 AM
Julies Cool F1
Post Fiend
Received 13 Likes on 13 Posts
Hi Steve! Welcome to FTE.

I missed this the other day when you wrote it, so I'll tell you a few things that might help. This is my 5000th post by the way!

First of all that 55 was originally built with a 6 volt electrical system. We need to know if it has been converted to 12 volt.

The dash lights are VERY simple. There is power fed from the headlight switch through a rheostatic dimmer (the thing that turns) and the power goes right out to the light bulb socket.

What's important to note is that if the truck in now 12 volt. The dimmer won't work at all (won't dim) the lights just stay bright until you get almost all the way over to the off position on the dimmer. If you still have the 6 volt bulbs in there they won't work at all with the dimmer.