6.0L Power Stroke Diesel 2003 - 2007 F250, F350 pickup and F350+ Cab Chassis, 2003 - 2005 Excursion and 2003 - 2009 van

Hypertech users please come in.

Search this Thread

Old 03-12-2010, 07:56 PM
02GrayPowerStroke
Posting Guru
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Hypertech users please come in.

I have been using Hypertech for 10 years+ And have never had any issues with them. From diesels to Corvettes.

But going with the Hypertech Extreme Energy programmer with the 6.0 I am having some weird results.

The truck seams to have "stock" power from idle to 2250 rpm and then the truck and engine takes off like a rocket ship. Sorta like a mean two stroke motor cycle with its power band. Its almost like the "programmer" does not take effect until the 2250 RPM mark.

Has any one seen this?

I also have been experiencing some strange shifting with the programmer.

I have contacted Hypertech and they were no help, said they had never seen these issues before.

I know I am going to get hit with alot of "Go with the SCT" this and that. I may go that direction after I do some research. But this thread is about the Hypertech and the 6.0 engine/truck.

Thank you for the help!

Old 03-12-2010, 10:31 PM
rickatic
Postmaster
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Gray,

I know you asked for a Hypertech guy but I am curious. The issues you are experiencing appear to me to be exactly the issues mentioned by the experienced guru's here and why they do not recommend the unit. Sorry for breaking from your request

Old 03-12-2010, 10:46 PM
tex25025
Post Fiend
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Originally Posted by 02GrayPowerStroke
I have been using Hypertech for 10 years+ And have never had any issues with them. From diesels to Corvettes.
What works well with past vehicles doesn't exactly translate to what works well with this vehicle.

But going with the Hypertech Extreme Energy programmer with the 6.0 I am having some weird results.