1999 to 2016 Super Duty 1999 to 2016 Ford F250, F350, F450 and F550 Super Duty with diesel V8 and gas V8 and V10 engines
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Ball Joints...

Search this Thread

Old 02-22-2010, 09:28 AM
Jayman1
Freshman User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Ball Joints...

Hello everyone, I am brand new to this and have been reading some good info from a lot of people. So I decided to become a member and hope to talk to and share some good info with others. I have a question about my truck. I own a 2002 Ford F350 Super Cab XLT 4X4 5.4L gasoline engine. I have been hearing a knocking noise for the longest time now and it is driving me crazy. I can't really pinpoint where it is coming from or exactly what the cause is. I lifted the front of my truck and wedged a long 2x4 under the wheels to check for play in the ball joints but they appeared fine to me. No loose exhaust parts or swinging cables or anything like that. I am quite mechanically inclined, not to the point of breaking down an engine but I can pretty much do any exterior work and repairs on exhast, ball joints, suspension (I actually just did a 3 " body lift in my truck on my own, wasn't easy with just one person but I got it done) etc. I did check for loose cab bolts or bed bolts and those are all fine as this noise has been happening well before the body lift addition. I also added a mini leaf spring pack to the front end to level out the truck and I am running 37" BF Goodrich tires. But this noise has got to go. It is driving me crazy. Once again the noise has been happening before any of this work I have just done to it. If anyone has any crazy ideas what it might be, please let me know. I think I am going to replace the ball joints anyway and see what happens, they appeared fine to me but who knows, Can someone recommend a good set of ball joints to buy and a link where I can purchase them from. I want good ones so i don't have to do this too often. Sorry for the long post and thanks to everyone in a