Sponsored by:

Painting the "wood" trim

Search this Thread

Old 02-04-2010, 02:58 PM
GregN
Senior User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Painting the "wood" trim

Well, I am just getting into the paint/body thing as a hobby. I have a 2003 Ford Excursion. Some of the interior trim pieces were that fake cherry wood...I can't stand that stuff, so I decided to paint it. The truck is a two tone White/Gold. I got some mud flaps for it that I was going to paint to match, and I figured I would do the trim pieces as well. Here you go:

Before

After

I just used an adhesion promoter (A little goes a long way...FYI), a high build flexible primer, sanded with 400 grit, three coats of color, followed by 3 coats of clear. All the cans were rattle cans. The color was custom mixed for $20 a can. The clear was a two part automotive clear in a rattle can. Overall, I am very happy with the results, especially for my first project like this. It is kind of addicting.

I forgot to take Before pictures while the stuff was still installed, so if someone has some before pictures for me, that would be great. It is a 2003 Ex with tan interior. I still need to take some pics of the after install.

Old 02-04-2010, 03:42 PM
RMBC Freeride
Elder User

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Looks nice... Incredibly nice for a rattle can!!!

What brand mud flaps are those & where did you get them?

Old 02-04-2010, 07:45 PM
nghtrgr
Tuned
Received 6 Likes on 2 Posts
I've been wanting to do this to my Ex do the "wood" door pieces just pop off. What brand, where did you get the paint?? Very nice

Old 02-04-2010, 08:07 PM
GregN
Senior User
The mud flaps are Husky brand. I got them from Summit Racing for $27 a pair. The front part #HUS-56481 and rear #HUS-57481.