1948 - 1956 F1, F100 & Larger F-Series Trucks Discuss the Fat Fendered and Classic Ford Trucks

Retry on first post - fender question

Search this Thread

Old 01-10-2010, 06:56 PM
brit_wheels_fan
Senior User
Received 4 Likes on 2 Posts
Retry on first post - fender question

As a newbie I think I have something to learn about posting to the forum. My first attempt never appeared. Here is a second try.

About two weeks ago I purchased a 51 F1 pickup, sight unseen. Yes, I know there is a hazard in doing that. I trusted the description and the pictures on an eBay ad. The seller agreed to the sale and to keep the truck in his storage until spring arrives.

From the photos I can see that the old beast will need fenders, at least on the right front corner. I have checked a couple of vender sources, BOTP and Mac's, and I see that they sell fibergalss replacement fenders. Are there any other choices (steel?) and what are the pitfalls / advantages / disadvantages to the fiberglass parts? This will be my first attempt at a restoration. My skills and resources are limited. I am not interested in having a show truck, just an occasional driver / cruiser that is safe, reasonably reliable, and presentable.

Thanks in advance to any and all who may offer a reply.

Respectfully yours,
Rob Blubaugh (brit_wheels_fan) - Rensselaer, Indiana

Old 01-10-2010, 07:25 PM
52 Merc
Hotshot
Received 2,451 Likes on 1,398 Posts
Welcome to the forum, Rob. Congratulations on your 'new' truck. For replacing the fenders on your '51, your choices would be aftermarket fiberglass or used, original steel. No one makes new metal fenders for our trucks. I have not seen your truck, or know what exactly is wrong with your existing parts, but most times, the fenders are repairable, unless they are totally crumpled from accident damage. A lot will depend on what's wrong with them and what your skill level is for sheet metal work, or that of people you know.