Excursion - King of SUVs 2000 - 2005 Ford Excursion
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Starting a Debate again, Bilstein or Rancho?

Search this Thread

Old 01-04-2010, 05:42 PM
Rushmore X
Logistics Pro

Received 2 Likes on 1 Post
Starting a Debate again, Bilstein or Rancho?

Need to upgrade the shocks for better handling on the road. Searched the forum and still have the question, what is better, Pneumatic or Hydraulic?

Old 01-04-2010, 07:58 PM
scottman70
Posting Guru
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
I have seen many complaints about the Bilsteins but I have never seen a complaint about the Rancho 9000XL adjustibles. Bilstein people think they are the greatest, I have the 9000XL's and I love the flexibility in the ride! I think they are great shocks!

Old 01-04-2010, 09:21 PM
Husky44
Senior User
I like my Ranchos, but I've got no experience to compare the Bilsteins to them. Decision factors for me:
1) Never read anyone complaining about the Ranchos, did read several comments that the Bilsteins were too stiff
2) Rancho has adjustability, so I can dial them in the way I want
3) Found a way to get Ranchos for approx the same price as Bilsteins, so I bought them!

I don't think the Bilstein is a bad choice though, at least from a reputational perspective.

Old 01-04-2010, 09:22 PM
WhiteZombie
Senior User
rancho anything is garbage. bilsteins are great. only the stainless ones. bds is good as well because they are made by bilstein

Old 01-04-2010, 10:06 PM
Rushmore X
Logistics Pro

Saw both on E-bay for $275. Will Check Napa, Autozone, etc here in town tomorrow. Where's the best deal?

Old 01-04-2010, 10:56 PM
X_Hemi_Guy
Hotshot
Received 16 Likes on 9 Posts
shockwarehouse.com has 4 Bilsteins shipped to your door for about $250 or so if you enter the code 'five' at checkout.