1948 - 1956 F1, F100 & Larger F-Series Trucks Discuss the Fat Fendered and Classic Ford Trucks

Farm-Fresh '51 ('49 '53 '54 mutant) - What to know before I buy?

Search this Thread

Old 05-22-2013, 08:17 AM
j_siegel
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Farm-Fresh '51 ('49 '53 '54 mutant) - What to know before I buy?

Hi everyone, from the Chevy side of town.

I'm a PhD student and will be in the same place for a few years, so I want to pick up my dream '49 F1 to restore.

I'm not a newbie when it comes to restoration - I've done a '55 Chevy myself, and helped friends with about half a dozen other cars. I am a total novice when it comes to the early Ford trucks, however. I've done some preliminary searches on common problems, but I'd love to know what, exactly, I should put on my check-out checklist when I drive two hours to see an F1 tomorrow.

I'm looking at a "barn-restored" car -- fixed or restored using whatever was laying around. I'm told the truck is a '51 with an original flathead V8 and a 4-speed swapped from a F5 or F6 (the seller says no synchros though I thought some F5's had them - otherwise strange reason for a swap?). The fenders and grille are from a '49 and the bed is from a '54, while the steering wheel is from a ‘53. I'm told it was running and driving well, but the seller doesn't know the location of a kill switch the previous owner installed (the car was willed to him). Been converted to 12V, except the starter, and has electronic ignition. Don’t know much else – apparently the interior is missing “liners” - not sure if that means door panels or a headliner, but I can't tell from the pics.