1948 - 1956 F1, F100 & Larger F-Series Trucks Discuss the Fat Fendered and Classic Ford Trucks

48-52 Reverse Hood

Search this Thread

Old 11-28-2009, 01:12 PM
Jeff Olsen
Junior User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
48-52 Reverse Hood

Hello everyone. I am a newbie on posting but have been a member of the site for sometime.
My question is in regards to reverse tilt hoods for the 48-52. Has anyone done this on the site successfully? I have seen the kits online for sale but not specifically for my year of truck. Any help would be appreciated.

Old 11-28-2009, 01:45 PM
Julies Cool F1
Post Fiend
Received 13 Likes on 13 Posts
HI JEFF!

Welcome to FTE!

Has anyone ever done this....You mean THIS????

Name:  C Outside View April 2009 1.jpg
Views: 3717
Size:  75.1 KB

No, why?

Ok I'm just being a smart butt.

I have done it, I have tons of pictures, and a MS Word write up on how it was done and lessons learned.

You don't have enough posts to send PMs yet (you need 25) so write me an e-mail at babbiebuddie@***.net and I'll send you the whole kit and kaboodle!

PS It's all the original steel btw.

Old 11-29-2009, 12:20 AM
52 Merc
Hotshot
Received 2,451 Likes on 1,398 Posts
Welcome to the forum, Jeff.
I have never seen a reverse open kit for the 48-52 Ford truck hoods, and if you did, I think you'd have some fundamental problems with them. Unlike the later trucks, the early effies have a very narrow hood front, and the hood is set well back of the header panel. This would have serious stability issues with a narrow hinge in the front, and a whole bunch of weight up top trying to tip over, one way or the other. Problem number two would be devising a hinge that would lift up the front and carry the hood over, and in front of, the header panel. All while trying to keep the hood from tipping over sideways. A difficult proposition, at best.