EFI 5.8l to carb - another rambling, newbie type question

Search this Thread

Old 11-10-2009, 02:34 PM
ChaseTruck754
Lead Driver
Received 11 Likes on 11 Posts
EFI 5.8l to carb - another rambling, newbie type question

OK - so I am admittedly a complete novice with motors in general and I have what should be a basic question for most people here.

I'm looking at an EFI motor out of a 90 F-250 (yes - I just bought an 86 carbed motor - but more on that in a minute). Is converting this EFI motor to a carb as easy as changing the intake manifold and putting a carb on it - or is there a lot more to it?
A buddy seems to think it's more than just the intake manifold that needs to be changed but he couldn't explain what - so I don't know whether to believe him.

Now back to that 86 I bought... I got the complete truck for a great price and was thinking of leaving it complete and maybe making a little $$ by just re-selling it. That is where this new 90 motor comes in. I might be able to sell the 86 for enough to get that 90 for free!

Is one motor more desirable than another (86 vs. 90)? Whichever one I go with will be getting long tube headers, an Edelbrock intake manifold and Holley 650 cfm carb for now. And then in a year or so it will get new heads and a cam and possibly also a TBI style injector run by a megasquirt injection system in the long run.

Should I dump the 86 truck complete if it will make enough $$ to grab this 90 motor which (supposedly - I can't verify) has less mileage?
The 86 is running, in a truck and seems to run well. The 90 is already pulled and I have to take the guys word of "it was running perfect when pulled - I just rolled the truck and therefore parted it out".

Last edited by ChaseTruck754; 11-10-2009 at 02:43 PM. Reason: spelling
Old 11-10-2009, 04:22 PM
Kemicalburns
Hotshot
Received 8 Likes on 7 Posts
what are you putting the motor into again?

if the 86 is already a runner why fix something that isnt broken.