Notices
1987 - 1996 F150 & Larger F-Series Trucks 1987 - 1996 Ford F-150, F-250, F-350 and larger pickups - including the 1997 heavy-duty F250/F350+ trucks
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

help!!!

Search this Thread

Old 08-29-2009, 07:52 PM
bigmacmonday
Senior User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
help!!!

I am pretty new to this but learning allot as i go here. I have been building up a 460 efi on my 89 f-150 and today apparently I put a little too much torque down the drive shaft. The shaft did not twist but the differential end of the joint broke sending the drive shaft to the ground. The Ujoint on the drive shaft seems ok but I need to replace the part on the differential that it connects to and I ,embarrassed, cannot figure out what the name of that is to find/order the part. Here is a pic.

Old 08-29-2009, 08:29 PM
F150xlt
Posting Guru
Received 7 Likes on 6 Posts
It's called a half round companion flange.
The torque on the nut is around 160 ft. lbs.

Before you remove the pinion nut.

You need to jack the rear up and remove the rear wheels and brake drums.
with an inch lb. torque wrench measure the torque required to turn the pinion nut in either direction. Record that value. Remove the pinion nut and purchase a new one. When you install the new nut tighten it until the torque to move the nut is the same as what the value you recorded was. Then tighten then the nut a little bit more.

The ring and pinion back lash is set by crushing a sleeve on the pinion gear which is why it's critical you install a new pinion nut this way.

Old 08-29-2009, 08:31 PM
Neptoess
Senior User
what's this 460 got a damn blower?

Old 08-29-2009, 09:00 PM
baldboyford
Tuned
Received 6 Likes on 5 Posts