Notices
Excursion - King of SUVs 2000 - 2005 Ford Excursion
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Air box mod

Old 07-13-2009, 12:50 PM
supersle
Junior User
supersle is starting off with a positive reputation.
Air box mod

Well I am new to the Ford V10 sceen, but not new to modding and increasing air flow and power. So I started modding the X the past couple weeks. Nothing big, but noticed a great gain so I thought I would post it.

The air box on the V10 is obviously restrictive and CAI for these things are rediculous at $250+. So what I've done is open up air flow a bit. First of all I got a K&N cone filter (just the drop in replacement). That did pretty well with better response and increased MPGs from 14 on the Hwy to about 15.5-16. So I then took the front cover with the snorkle off the filter and strapped the filter back on with the strap but without the box over the fiter anymore. Testing brought that up to about 18-19MPG on the Hwy.

However the filter was just sitting there and not real well attached, so I took the cover that had been removed and cut it down, leaving the ring to attach the strap to and the base, but allowing the filter to be fully exposed. Now it is in there securely but opened up and getting much better power and response.

Pics to follow.

Old 07-13-2009, 01:37 PM
jdadamsjr
Post Fiend
jdadamsjr has a superb reputationjdadamsjr has a superb reputationjdadamsjr has a superb reputationjdadamsjr has a superb reputationjdadamsjr has a superb reputationjdadamsjr has a superb reputationjdadamsjr has a superb reputationjdadamsjr has a superb reputationjdadamsjr has a superb reputationjdadamsjr has a superb reputationjdadamsjr has a superb reputation
If I understand (which is always a gamble ) you have engine compartment air going straight thru the filter ?

Pics will help

Old 07-13-2009, 03:31 PM
supersle
Junior User
supersle is starting off with a positive reputation.
Originally Posted by jdadamsjr View Post