1999 to 2016 Super Duty 1999 to 2016 Ford F250, F350, F450 and F550 Super Duty with diesel V8 and gas V8 and V10 engines
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Code 1291 tried everything need help !

Search this Thread

Old 10-23-2023, 01:40 PM
Porrepair
2nd Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Code 1291 tried everything need help !

Hey guys , so my work truck is a 2015 f550 6.7 , I am a mobile mechanic for ag , this truck has been down for 5 weeks now , I took it to a couple places and now it’s back for me to try to figure it out , so first I had the seals leaking around injectors to valve covers , I wanted to put new seals in , (truck ran perfect ) I removed each injector and installed new seals , installed injectors and torqued in the same position they came out , after that I keep getting code 1291 after about 1 sec of starting it , so unplugged each injector on bank 1 till #1 if u unplug it and clear codes the truck runs better but has a miss from injector not being fired . As soon as you plug it in it will labour engine and throw the code , i since , replaced all 8 injectors , made no difference , tested harness and it all tedted hood , but I just replaced the harness anyways and it didn’t make a difference, then I replaced and programmed the pcm and it still made no diffence . The one shop I took it to has # 1 injector hooked up to a tube and let it spray out in a pail , (he just stuck another injector in hole , it sprayed hood and the code wasn’t up , but as soon as he unplugged it and plugged it into the new injector in the hole it threw code , I’ve swapped injectors from diffrent holes thinking maybe the new injectors was faulty but it doesn’t matter, compression is also good , I’m lost on what to do next!! Seems like it has to be in the hole for the code to come up but yet not an injector ??

Last edited by Porrepair; 10-23-2023 at 01:45 PM.
Old 10-23-2023, 02:43 PM
99powerstrokedF250
Fleet Mechanic
Received 356 Likes on 280 Posts