Leaking rear end

Search this Thread

Old 05-30-2002, 08:35 AM
rayray2k22002
Senior User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Leaking rear end

I've got a 61 f100 and just notice that the rearend is starting to leak.. I have no experience in the area and want to find out:

How timely and expensive it is to replace the gasket?

How do you replace the fluid that you lose and how do u tell when its getting low?

Would this be the cause of a thud that i would hear occasionally when stopping?

Thanks in advance
Any help would be appreciated

Old 05-30-2002, 10:30 AM
jim henderson
Postmaster
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Leaking rear end

Don't know about the thud, could be lots of things including loose gears, an axle that isn't tied down tight, loose springs, loose brake shoes, shocks etc.

Depending on the differential, there are two ways of removing the fluid.

RULE #1 if you have to jack up your truck, use jack stands. I learned this the hard way, ruined a pair of my best undies.

Most of the diffs have a coverplate and gasket. This is usually easy to remove but a PITA to clean and put a new gasket on, not hard, just a PITA. What I do is get a wide drain pan and have it handy. Then I loosen the lower bolts on the cover almost all the way and the upper bolts just part way. Then you will probably need a wide flat screww driver or better yet a flat chisle or one of those painters handy dandy tools to pop open paint cans. Use the tool at the bottom of the pan and try to loosen the cover from the differntial, try not to bend the sheet metal as you do this. You might need a rubber mallet to get started. If you do this right, the bottom of the cover will pop open and the oil will drain out the bottom. If you do it wrong, not so bad but you may have a mess since the oil may come out the sides.