1982 351 Build up

Search this Thread

Old 04-26-2009, 05:11 PM
Haaser
Senior User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
1982 351 Build up

Hey guys I have a confirmed low mileage 1982 351 Windsor. It has less than 60,000 miles and came from my grandmas LTD. Now this engine only has about 140hp which is really quite poor. Im a starving student on a extremely tight budget trying to put together an engine. What I would like to do is swap on a set of older Windsor heads or newer GT-40's. This would bring the compression up and while I do this I will swap in a XE-268 cam for a bit of sound and power. I plan to keep the shortblock stock until I have the change to replace. In doing this will I have piston to valve clearance issues on the stock 1982 pistons? Of course there will be a set of headers and a 4bbl carb.

Old 04-26-2009, 05:38 PM
Conanski
FTE Legend
Received 1,025 Likes on 804 Posts
I'd suggest the XE262H, that'll deliver a little broader powerband and a solid 300hp without touching the bottom end.. which doesn't need to be touched anyway.

Old 04-26-2009, 10:54 PM
Tifford
Senior User
A set of 69 heads for a 351w can be found for $50 on ebay. They will not out HP a set of aftermarket heads but they are cheap.

Old 04-30-2009, 12:26 AM
Haaser
Senior User
Well I have deceided to keep the heads stock. For now I just need a motor. With the pedestal mounted rockers and stock springs how large of a cam can I run. Im thinkin the comp cam high energy 268H. I would just like to spruce it up a bit for the temporary time being. I guess my question is how much work is it to swap a slightly larger cam into a virtually stock shortblock and what all will have to be changed.

Old 04-30-2009, 09:48 AM
Conanski
FTE Legend
Both the cams mentioned here are a TON bigger than stock and will essentially double the engines output when coupled with a carb, intake, and exhaust. The cams also produce about as much lift as the stock springs can handle, no other internal parts need to be changed.