92 5.0 Performance Build. Help!

Search this Thread

Old 02-22-2009, 11:16 PM
92 Flareside Guy
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
92 5.0 Performance Build. Help!

Hey guys I am new to the Ford scene and have a few questions. I have 92 F-150 Flareside with a bone stock 302. I am in the early stages of this project and after talking to my local machine shop am already frustrated. He informed me that this motor is to much trouble to put performance parts in and maintain the fuel injection. I WILL NOT run a carb on this truck. The mustang guys have been doing it for years so I know there has to be a way to keep my F.I. and get some extra pony's out of this truck. I am thinking cam, heads, intake, throttle body, and injectors. I just dont know about the computer stuff. I have a ton of experience with GM LS1's but as I said I am a ford newby. My late Grandad left me this truck that he bought brand new in 91 so it is important to me to do this right. Any info is greatly appreciated.
Thanks,
Steve

Old 02-23-2009, 05:04 AM
8bahead
Senior User
Check out sbftech.com lots of good info there you have to be willing to learn and listen to their advice

Old 02-23-2009, 05:13 AM
lew52
Postmaster
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
I have a 95 with 302 that i did... You can keep your FI.. I just used all the truck performance intake & throtle body...When we were done we did have to do a chip...I am OBD 1...Mass air...I dont now much about the older trucks.. Are you mass air or speed den..Lew

Old 02-23-2009, 09:58 AM
Conanski
FTE Legend
Received 980 Likes on 774 Posts