Sponsored by: DP Tuner

Fuel bowl a mess. What now?

Search this Thread

Old 01-01-2009, 10:34 AM
ferkettr
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Fuel bowl a mess. What now?

Happy New Year to all. I started what I thought would be a simple procedure this morning. I just wanted to change the fuel filter in the truck I recently bought ('99 F250), but what I found is a little concerning. See the pic below.

The black stuff is crusted onto everything and does not brush off easily - needs to be scraped. So how concerned do I need to be? Is there an easy way to clean it. And, by the way, what is the copper wire attached to? I lifted it a little and saw that there's a rubber something underneath. (I'm new to diesels in case you can't tell) Thanks for any insight you can offer.

Ross

Last edited by ferkettr; 01-01-2009 at 10:36 AM. Reason: extra code copied in by mistake
Old 01-01-2009, 10:37 AM
fxstbchopper
Fleet Mechanic
The copper wire is for the fuel heater.

Old 01-01-2009, 11:23 AM
Kwikkordead
Fleet Owner
Received 792 Likes on 604 Posts
That is pretty crusty looking.
What I would do is put a cap over the center post to keep any crud from entering the passage to the injectors.
Then get a can of carburator cleaner and start in on it.
Compressed air would be the best way to clean it all out after you have brushed the junk.
Also snip that broken wire off and discard it.
It will cause a short which will blow the fuse that powers the ECU = dead truck.

Old 01-01-2009, 11:29 AM
F350-6
Post Fiend
Received 24 Likes on 20 Posts
If you break the wire, you'll need to unplug the heater connection on the back of the fuel bowl. If you leave it plugged in with a broken wire, it will blow a fuse that also powers the PCM so the truck won't start. Good news is, unplug the connector & replace the fuse and drive like that. You don't really need the heater.