Tire recomendation please

Search this Thread

Old 06-12-2002, 05:00 PM
Goatboy
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Hi, newbie here.
I need to replace the stock tires (g-year p265/70/17)on my 99 f-150 4x4. Does anybody has any feedback on Kelly's Wild Country APP's?
I got a price of 112 per (mounting & balancing included) vs 160 per for the g-year rt/s's. I'm looking for a good, all-around mainly highway/light off-road use tire that's good in the rain. Are the prices I got decent? or do I need to keep shopping?

Thanks,
Jamie
'99 F-150 Lariat 4x4 Supercab

Old 06-24-2002, 02:29 AM
hoss
Junior User

[updated:LAST EDITED ON 24-Jun-02 AT 03:30 AM (EST)]Welcome to the club. In my own opinion and experiences, BFGoodrich All Terrain T/A's are a very good all-around tire. Not so much in deep mud, but they have excellent highway manners, are very quiet, and have long life under proper inflation. They are also very reasonably priced. I do a lot of freeway driving, or else I'd have BFG Mud Terrains.

Old 06-27-2002, 07:10 AM
SplashMan
Senior User

I'd go with the RTs's. My father has a set of these on his Explorer and he lives in out in the contry in Iowa. He says they are great in the snow and rain and he never had a problem digging through the snow this winter. His roads tend to get real muddy after a little rain and he says the new tires grip great. Hope that helps a little.

Old 06-28-2002, 11:07 PM
BrianA
Postmaster
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

I recently bought 4 Wild Country Radial APT for my 2000 F 150. I am very happy with them. They have the dual channel water flow tread pattern. Wet weather driving is SIGNIFICANTLY better than OEM Goodyears (which were good tires).
Brian A

Old 06-29-2002, 01:01 AM
RBrendel
Posting Guru