Will I like the RTS (T170FT) after running a T18?

Search this Thread

Old 09-20-2008, 10:06 AM
BarnieTrk
Cargo Master
Received 56 Likes on 49 Posts
Will I like the RTS (T170FT) after running a T18?

Fellas, here is the situation:

My current truck is a '65 F-100 SWB with a stout 390" and a T-18 trans behind it. It has served me well; however, the truck is getting rusty and the cab is starting to sag outta shape. So I've been looking for a suitable replacement.

I finally pulled the trigger & picked up a very solid '65 F-250, also with a warmed over 390", and equipped with a DANA 60 rear w/4.10 gears; nice. However, the trans is a mid 80's 4spdOD (RTS) trans. Now I know what my T-18 can do (if I've got traction, it'll climb trees!), but I've got NO experience with with this RTS trans and what it's capable of.. so it has me somewhat concerned.

As mentioned, it is behind a warmed-over 390 FE and is in a '65 F-250. Fuel mileage is NOT an issue trouble-tree towing & hauling is. The truck will primarily be used to perform once or twice a month with most trips of less than 100 miles round trip; for 8 months of the year. The towing will consist of a 2,200# two-axle trailer with normal trailer cargo weights of 3,600 to 5,000 lbs. So, around 10,000 lb total combined weight won't be unusual.

So what do you guys think - will the RTS trans live in the described work environment?

All thoughts and/or advice welcome!

BarnieTrk

P.S.
Does anyone know what the 1,2, 3, and OD numerical gear ratios are for the RTS (T170FT) 4spd-OD transmissions?

Old 09-20-2008, 10:49 PM
iggybob44
Post Fiend
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts