1999 to 2016 Super Duty 1999 to 2016 Ford F250, F350, F450 and F550 Super Duty with diesel V8 and gas V8 and V10 engines
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Front wheel bearings.

Search this Thread

Old 07-03-2008, 06:57 PM
Delvac1
Senior User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Front wheel bearings.

I own a 2000 F-250 4x4. I have been trying to change my front wheel bearings on the passenger side. I know they are sealed and they must be changed as a unit. I just finished getting everything pulled apart, and I'm wondering if I might have a bigger problem than just bearings. You'll have to cut me some slack because I'm not a mechanic, and I don't know the names for all the parts. Anyway, I know the bearings are shot because there is a lot of slack between the front and back part of the hub. The thing I am worried about is the seal or bearing or whatever it is behind the hub assembly. There is a lot of slack in it. I can actually grab the axle shaft and move it around quite a bit. I don't know if its supposed to be that way, but my thinking says no. Plus the entire thing is full of metal shavings. Any help would be great, and thanks in advance. Also I'm trying to figure out how to attach pics to this, so if anyone know please let me know. I guess I could just make a gallery for it. Thanks again.

Old 07-03-2008, 09:35 PM
miker67
Elder User
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
A little endplay in the axle assembly with the hub removed is ok. If you pull hard enough, it would actually come right out of the housing; however, don't do this unless you have taken the time to procure a new seal and the appropriate install tool. Now might be a good time to do that though.......... Check out this thread for more info on the axleshaft. It is a ball joint install thread, but has good info on the seal driver.

https://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/3...ll-joints.html