1948 - 1956 F1, F100 & Larger F-Series Trucks Discuss the Fat Fendered and Classic Ford Trucks

59 F-100 starting problem

Old 04-27-2008, 04:30 PM
Miz59F-100
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question 59 F-100 starting problem

I'm new to the online forum, but here's a question. When the carb is primed (maybe gallon of fresh in old tank), she'll fire up, but won't keep running. Some backfire. Not sure how to safely remove tank(behind seat in cab) to clean. Possible trash in tank, line problem, not sure. Anyone with advice on where to start? This lady would like to at least get her running again (used to run better than any other vehicle I had, but has set a few years and afraid to pull or drag her due to brake issues). I can't even sell her unless she's running. Help? Ideas?

Old 04-27-2008, 05:16 PM
Old F1
Cargo Master

Received 66 Likes on 49 Posts
Welcome!
Just some useless suggestions;

One gal. in that tank might not be enough, (get Brinks to deliver some more)

See if you have gas coming out of the fuel pump when you crank it by undoing the gas line, (at the pump) disconnect the ign while doing this, the probably of a gas fire is likely.

With air pressure blow backwards up the fuel line at the pump (tank side) to the tank, then see if gas flows out on its own, it should, the probably of a gas fire is likely.

The back fire can be bad, the probably of a gas fire is likely.

What else guys?

Old 04-27-2008, 07:33 PM
ibuzzard
Panties NOT in a Twist

Received 288 Likes on 199 Posts
"the probably of a gas fire is likely" ?

Old 04-27-2008, 07:41 PM
Sandidande
Senior User
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Take the gas cap off the tank.....If your tank does not run a dedicated vent, you need a vented cap and the vent needs to work. If the tank has a dedicated vent, check to ensure it is open.

Old 04-27-2008, 08:00 PM
ALBUQ F-1
Fleet Owner
Received 607 Likes on 377 Posts