Need Timeing Help PLEASE!

Search this Thread

Old 06-12-2002, 07:37 PM
TheNomad
Elder User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

:-X11 Hello every boddy. OK. First take it eazzy on me. I dont know how to do the timeing on my truck . i've looked in my book But they dont show how you do it. I know you turn the distributor. The timeing on my 79 302 is 8º BTDC. Can any one help me?
I geting a timeing light tommorow.
I know this might sound kinda sad. But i'm still learning
Any help wound be wonderfull. Thank you all for your time.

(May the Ford be with you)
I know that saying is used to much but hey it;s still cool.

Old 06-13-2002, 04:52 PM
Supercab
Lead Driver

Received 26 Likes on 18 Posts

Heres what you do with your timing: first, leave all vacuum lines hooked up, then turn the distributor clockwise with engine running until it starts to run a little rough or buck, back it off just a little, lock it down and test drive, if engine pings under accelleration back timing off JUST A LITTLE at a time until it stops pinging on test runs, you need to have whatever grade of gasoline in your tank that you normally run before setting the timing, after timing is set THEN you can adjust your carb.

Old 06-13-2002, 04:54 PM
Supercab
Lead Driver

P.S. RETURN THE TIMING LIGHT,YOU DON'T NEED IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Old 06-13-2002, 08:39 PM
TheNomad
Elder User

Thank you so much Supercab!
I did return the Light. and it runs smooth! now!.
Now all I need to do is get this carb tooned in.

Thank you again sooo much!

79 f150 Ranger

Old 06-14-2002, 07:28 PM
Supercab
Lead Driver

If you need help on your carb. adjustment please just ask & I'll walk you through it, it is easy to do, are you doing a tune-up or something??

Old 06-16-2002, 03:33 PM
TheNomad
Elder User