Senior User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
a few questions

Old 10-09-2001, 10:22 AM
4294x4
New User
a few questions

Ive got a few questions for you all. I have a 429 that I recently put in my 77 F150 4x4 w/ a C6 and an NP205. The engine is mildly built, and everything on it is brand new, with less than 600 miles on it total. I have a mild cam ( i can't remember specs of hand, but it is a performance range 2 cam ) and a 600 cfm edelbrock performer carb. The carb has a jet one stage richer than stock along with matching rods. I am new to tuning this carb and may need some help.

My first question.... What should the timing be at on the engine?

Second, I am having a problem with the carburator I think. When I leave a stoplight or exit a sharp corner and let on the gas after idling for a little while, sometimes the engine seems to sputter and miss. This seems to be only after it is warmed up. Sometimes it even backfires. I have tried adjusting my mixture screws on the carb, and they do not seem to make a difference in this case. Any thoughts? Should I just bring it to someone who knows how to tune this carb and have him do the tuning?

A week ago, I had a problem with my truck seeming to miss very badly after driving for a while. We attributed this to the arcing of the plug wires, and a crack in the base of the distributor cap. I thus replaced my ignition w/ accel wires, new plugs, distributor cap base, ignition module, and I also have a fairly new coil. Any help would be appreciated.

Old 10-09-2001, 06:27 PM
proud owner
Senior User
a few questions

Sounds like your timing is off. It sputters when you nail on the gas? and it backfires? Ummm, does it backfire consistently..? Backfiring through the carburator usually indicates a timing problem.
I'd say it's Either carburation or timing. Since you just replaced your plugs, wires, cap, etc., I doubt it's any of those.. your ignition sounds to be in fine shape.