1948 - 1956 F1, F100 & Larger F-Series Trucks Discuss the Fat Fendered and Classic Ford Trucks

Looking to buy

Search this Thread

Old 08-30-2007, 06:12 AM
vwman
Junior User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Looking to buy

I am in the market for an F-1 pickup to restore. I am in the south and going to look at a 53 today for $1k. I have seen the pictures but they are not too clear. I also did find a 50 in the west that looks like it has allot less condition issues for $2k. I know 53 is the first year of a new body style and last year of the flat head, but the condition has me thinking. Any thought's I'm new to the older trucks. Also both truck are pretty much complete with engines and trans.

Old 08-30-2007, 06:45 AM
Christopher2
Posting Guru
The less rust and body work the truck needs the better.

Old 08-30-2007, 06:48 AM
vwman
Junior User
That's what I'm thinking too. I just thinking the 53 maybe be worth more after it's finished and worth the extra work.

Old 08-30-2007, 06:56 AM
Christopher2
Posting Guru
From what I have seen trucks of these vintage sell for about the same price if they are restored to the same condition. Year depends who is looking I like the 1948 - 1950 if I saw the 1953 I would just walk by unless it was cheap enough to catch my interest.

Originally Posted by vwman
That's what I'm thinking too. I just thinking the 53 maybe be worth more after it's finished and worth the extra work.

Old 08-30-2007, 08:20 AM
AXracer
Hotshot
Received 53 Likes on 34 Posts
The F100 (53-56) is definitely a more popular body style than the F1 (48-52) with the masses, but "worth" is in the eye of the one holding the pocketbook.