Sponsored by: DP Tuner

i got a new problem

Search this Thread

Old 08-14-2007, 12:12 AM
mybigredford
Elder User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
i got a new problem

today while changing my oil, when i was under the truck , i noticed that i have oil coming from the steering box, i cant see exactly where it is coming from, i use a mirror on a telescoping rod, but i still couldnt see where the leak is exactly. do you guys think that i will have to change out the whole box, and how hard and what steps are involved in doing so, i am not a mechanic but i do know a little bit, so is this job hard for a novice??? also anyone have any ideas what else could be leaking on the steering box, a line maybe??

Old 08-14-2007, 12:18 AM
Tenn01PSD350
Post Fiend
Probably a hose and or fitting at a connection. Not rocket science but you have to pinpoint it to fix it. I recommend some Simple Green clean up and then find where it is. Replacing the pump, (probably not necessary), does involve removing the pulley and installing on the new IIRC.

Do not let this go as the PS system is directly connected to the brake system. When the power steering goes out, your power assist brakes go with it.

Old 08-14-2007, 12:21 AM
mybigredford
Elder User
i will look into this tommorow or the next thanks for the info, if it is a line do i just change it out and the add fluid to make up the loss, or do i have to do some sort of bleeding and what not?

Old 08-14-2007, 12:24 AM
Tenn01PSD350
Post Fiend
Some folks like to do a flush when repairing the PS system. It uses mercon tranny fluid in case you weren't aware of that. You could always simply top it off and drive the air out. Flushing is not mandatory but will assure you a clean fluid is in there.

Old 08-14-2007, 07:48 AM
zx250
Of the next Riffraff East
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Did you by chance turn the steering wheel with the engine off? I know for a fact that will push fluid out of the vent hole on the pump.

Old 08-14-2007, 08:57 AM
mybigredford