1948 - 1956 F1, F100 & Larger F-Series Trucks Discuss the Fat Fendered and Classic Ford Trucks

Why Volare and not Aerostar IFS

Search this Thread

Old 03-03-2007, 08:22 AM
montanarodder
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question Why Volare and not Aerostar IFS

I have been skulking around this site for about 3 months, soaking up the knowledge. I plan on upgrading the front suspension on my 56 F-100 with IFS and am trying to figure out why the Aerostar IFS swap isn't discussed very often on this forum. There is a lot of information on the Volare swap and it seems if some of the specialty shops still install it. With the availablity of Aerostars, the newer age and possibly lower miles on the front end and not being required to notch the frame it seems like a much better system? What am I missing in the equation?

Old 03-03-2007, 10:45 AM
49fordpickumup
Elder User
Aerostar

I'm doing the same. Gathering info for front and rear end swaps. I am surprise there are not more modern front end swaps. I think it is mostly the modern vehicles are to wide. The Jaguar XJ6 is popular. Sure hate having to buy Mustang II, but after looking at installing old front ends and buying parts to update them, the Mustang II price may be best and will help resale value. I read somewhere in these threads that lowering parts for the aerostar were not available. I'm sure someone in the group knows more. Have a great day, chuck

Old 03-03-2007, 11:48 AM
mymerc
Junior User