Sponsored by:

Sloppy Steering!!!

Search this Thread

Old 09-06-2002, 03:16 AM
1988XLT2002
Senior User
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Sloppy Steering!!!

have a 88 302 with 163K and i replaced the steering box, and all the tie rods and crap have all been replaced so basically the front end is new. the problem is i have tons of slop in the steering wheel i can move it 5-6" to the left or right and nothing happens no turning of the wheels or anything nadda!!!!!! and its really dangerous and annoying so i need some help or some info thanks.

Old 09-06-2002, 06:11 AM
tothfngclw
Senior User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Sloppy Steering!!!

I'm no expert but have learned from here that you should also check steering rod for play, also radius arm bushings can cause some steering problems, my ball joints and front axle u-joints were causing my 91 to steer bad. It was suggested to me to take it to a good alignment place and let them check it out. I still have some play and suspect my steering box but mine is 100 times better than what it was.

Old 09-06-2002, 11:03 AM
honney
Elder User
Sloppy Steering!!!

Have you checked the steering box anyway? It may still need to be adjusted. Beyond that, if tie rods are good, look at the steering shaft from the firewall to the steering box. It has a u-joint up top and a rag joint down below. Have someone turn the wheel while you lean over the fender and watch the steering shaft. Let us know what you find.

Old 09-06-2002, 05:27 PM
Pioneer Ford
Senior User
Sloppy Steering!!!

I have the same problem with my stering and it's getting worse! In regards to Honney's reply, I also replaced the gearbox, but how do you adjust it?

Eric

Old 09-07-2002, 02:28 AM
1988XLT2002
Senior User
Sloppy Steering!!!

I have new radius arm bushings so i know thats now it. there is no rag joint on a 88 so its not that. Steering box is fully adjusted to where is supposed to be. so its either the column or ball joints one or the other.

Old 09-07-2002, 04:18 AM