1997-2006 Expedition & Navigator 1997 - 2002 and 2003 - 2006 Ford Expedition and Lincoln Navigator Discussion

ABS Light On

Search this Thread

Old 02-16-2007, 08:19 AM
ddearth
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Exclamation ABS Light On

Hello,
First post, but very big fan of site. Thank you all a million times for the information you provide here.
I have a 1998 Expy XLT 4x4 with about 142K miles. I live in Dayton Ohio and we just got a bunch of snow and ice this week. I was driving down a road that had not been touch by a snow plow and the snow was about 8-14" deep in areas with the top being about 1-2" ice. I made it through no problem but later in the day I noticed my ABS light staying on. When I looked in the manual it just says that it's ok to drive but get it looked at as soon as possible.
I'm an amateur DYI with not a lot of experience with auto mechanics, but I've been doing a lot of stuff on my Expy and 1996 F-150 my self lately and feel confident I can tackle this with no problem. I would like a little guidance and pointing in the right direction.
I had seen a post from projectSHO89 to search for ABS* but for some reason I was kicked out of the search for too many searches?
If anyone can help, I would greatly appreciate it.
Thank youEmail Me

Old 02-16-2007, 08:41 AM
tommyleea
Tuned
Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
I have to preface this with my experience about this is on a much older vehicle. On my older vehicle the sensor was located in the rear differential. If this is the case on yours possibly the deep snow has affected the connection in some way. Take a look underneath, and see if it is still connected, or maybe iced over. Just a thought, and it is easy to check.

Old 02-16-2007, 06:25 PM
whotnow
Freshman User
If it has 4 wheel ABS, the front hubs can get packed w/snow and cause an error.

Old 02-16-2007, 06:49 PM
wrobo23
Elder User