General Coolant Questions

Search this Thread

Old 11-25-2006, 03:56 PM
Smokin'
Smokin
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
General Coolant Questions

Hey Guys,

So tomorrow I am getting ready to do my first coolant change. As far as I can tell the coolant in the truck has about 30,000 miles on it (I bought the old girl used in February, as most of you know)

Anyway I went and bought Motorcraft green and my anti-corrosion additive.

Anything I really need to know before diving in?

Now I know I need to flush to get all of the old coolant out, how many gallons of water do I need to flush through the system? How can I be sure I get all of the coolant out of the system? as I know i'll have a gallon or two hiding from me once I drain the radiator.

Also, whats the best way to dispose of all of the old fluid once I drain it all out?

Any nuggest will be helpful here, since this is my first time and all

Old 11-25-2006, 09:09 PM
nodakford
Senior User
Nothing special. Just a 50-50 mix, and at least a pint of SCA. Do one good trip, about 30 miles or so, before checking the SCA level. Check your loacl dump or auto parts store for disposal. Some places have recyling drums for it.

Old 11-25-2006, 09:23 PM
PowerstrokeJunkie
Post Fiend
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Here is how i did it on my neighbor's truck i worked on and also flushed the cooling system. Go to Walmart or where ever and get distilled water, 12 gallons of it or so, a cartfull. Look at the onlookers oddly as they look oddly upon you as you push a cart full of water to the express lane (might as well get 15 if that's the limit). Its like 67 cents a gallon so its not "expensive" for water. I hope you got 4 gallons of 100% antifreeze, right?