1948 - 1956 F1, F100 & Larger F-Series Trucks Discuss the Fat Fendered and Classic Ford Trucks

Suspension

Search this Thread

Old 10-30-2002, 05:21 PM
51dueller
Lead Driver
Received 11 Likes on 8 Posts
Suspension

I'm thinking of putting the twin I Beam suspension from a 73-79 F-250 in my truck. The frames width is the same and I know of the problems the suspension has. You just need new busings and coils. This way I can keep the wheels and have disc brakes. It was my birthday yesterday. I'm 16 now. I got a renewed subscription to Classic Trucks, a book about Ford Trucks and a Ford Racing hat.

Nathan

Yeah I can go for my drivers licence.
Doh I can't drive my truck yet unless I want to push a frame around. Oh well.

Keep on truckin!!

Old 10-30-2002, 06:35 PM
fatfenders
Post Fiend
Received 123 Likes on 94 Posts
Suspension

[updated:LAST EDITED ON 30-Oct-02 AT 07:38 PM (EST)]Nathan

How will your ride height change using this method? I am not knocking your idea. I have just never seen it done. Hope you had a happy birthday.

'fenders

Old 10-30-2002, 07:12 PM
mtflat
Lead Driver

Received 332 Likes on 256 Posts
Suspension

Happy Birthday Nathan!

Measure the frame width, height and thickness and compare the two. I don't know if you'll need to box your frame at the attachment points or not - measurements should tell the story.

Also check out the crossmember - the 70's is likely heavier than the 51 although they're both 3/4 ton setups.

Let us know how it goes - you're pioneering here!

Old 10-30-2002, 08:52 PM
51dueller
Lead Driver
Suspension