1997 - 2003 F150 1997-2003 F150, 1997-1999 F250LD, 7700 & 2004 F150 Heritage

Keys and Remotes

Search this Thread

Old 08-31-2006, 10:23 PM
oldsub86
Junior User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Keys and Remotes

I just got an 02 F150 and only received one key and one remote with it from a used truck dealer. I checked with my local Ford dealer today and they want about $42 for the key and $60 for the remote and I have to book an appointment for the service shop to program them. Do I have any other choices for a second key and remote? Is there an aftermarket source of any kind or am I stuck with the dealer?

Randy

Old 08-31-2006, 10:32 PM
Blurry94
Received 46 Likes on 36 Posts
I purchased a remote for my 01 F-150 (with programming instructions) off of ebay for around 10 bucks. I've been using the remote for several months and no problems thus far...the company I purchased it from guaranteed it too.

Old 08-31-2006, 11:14 PM
screwy
Cargo Master
Received 6 Likes on 4 Posts
The remotes you can get cheap on E-bay and program yourself. The key however is a different matter, being that you only have one key you need to have a high end code reader/diagnostic tool to program the truck to the key, so might as well have ford do it. If you had 2 keys it would be a different story.

Old 09-01-2006, 12:32 AM
pilot10
More Turbo
Often there is a programming charge on top of the cost of the key. You may want to check that so you can get your yelling and screaming out of the way.

I picked up two spare keys from the dealer for $27 a piece and they wanted something like a hundred dollars to program them. The programming function is detailed in the manual and in a few posts in this forum, but I wasn't successful in getting them programmed.
You do need two programmed keys in order to program additional keys and I believe there may be a limit to how many you can have programmed- it's like 6-7. Don't hold me to this last part as it's been a while since I read the manual.