Bronco II Ford Bronco II

New Owner of 87BII with bunches of problems

Search this Thread

Old 07-24-2006, 01:54 PM
mattoney
Senior User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
New Owner of 87BII with bunches of problems

Hello all. This is my first time on this side of the board, usually I'm over in the Ranger section. Dad and I recently purchased a very rough running 1987 BII, with a rebuilt transmission, transfer case, and the guy claims the people at Jasper put in a 4.0L cam in when they had the transmission out.

Having said all that, this thing has PROBLEMS! The first thing I did was a complete tune up consisting of new plugs, wires, cap, rotor, pcv valve, and air filter. Ran awful, so we reset the timing with the computer unplugged, and that helped a bunch, but still runs awful. Put the $30 Wal-Mart code scanner for my Ranger and Dad's 94 F-150 on there, and it came back with an ECT sensor out of range, Oxygen Sensor always lean, and EGR valve not opening. So I replaced the ECT sensor, warmed it up, and took a test to discover the codes for both the Oxygen Sensor and the ECT sensor had vanished. the EGR pipe is broken off at the exhaust so I'm not even going to mess with it right now. Re-ran the test and the ECT sensor out of range code reappeared.

I've tested the resistance at the plug for the ECT to make sure that there wasn't some super-resistance in the wire, and found it to be 18.91 Kohms. In comparison, my 87 Ford Ranger tested 18.70 kohms. So I don't think its the wiring. Next up, I guess, is testing the O2 sensor. Bottom line is, the plug wires are on, all the spark plugs should be firing, but it still has one heck of a miss, and you can't rev it up hardly at all. Running it with the computer unplugged seems to make it run a little better, but its still heavy on the miss. Any advice on what to check, or what to do next, would be greatly appreciated!

You guys have a great day, and thanks for the help.

Old 07-24-2006, 02:56 PM
my72ford
Senior User