Sponsored by: DP Tuner

Wastagate code

Search this Thread

Old 04-18-2006, 06:52 PM
DSun
Freshman User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question Wastagate code

Hi, I'm new to the diesel and I have an 03 Superduty 7.3L. I have a Hypertech Stage 3 Programmer and a K&N FIPK air system installed in it. I have checked the truck for codes a couple of times in the last year or so and I have had the code P1249 (Wastagate Fail Steady State Test) code two times. I was wondering if anyone could tell me what the wastagate is and what it does, and also if you think I should be worried about this code coming up. It has never thrown a service engine light for this code. Thanks in advance for any input anyone might have...

Old 04-18-2006, 07:01 PM
PSNut
Postmaster
Originally Posted by DSun
Hi, I'm new to the diesel and I have an 03 Superduty 7.3L. I have a Hypertech Stage 3 Programmer and a K&N FIPK air system installed in it. I have checked the truck for codes a couple of times in the last year or so and I have had the code P1249 (Wastagate Fail Steady State Test) code two times. I was wondering if anyone could tell me what the wastagate is and what it does, and also if you think I should be worried about this code coming up. It has never thrown a service engine light for this code. Thanks in advance for any input anyone might have...
Sounds like u need a boost relief valve in your MAP line to clear the code.
Nut

Old 04-18-2006, 07:13 PM
DSun
Freshman User
How hard is that to install?

Old 04-18-2006, 07:15 PM
PSNut
Postmaster
Originally Posted by DSun
How hard is that to install?
Very easy. U can pick one up from http://www.blackclouddiesel.com/
BTW, the wastegate opens up in your turbine housing to dump exhaust drive pressure to control boost. The turbo is only rated to 25psi max boost.
Nut

Last edited by PSNut; 04-18-2006 at 07:18 PM. Reason: update
Old 04-18-2006, 07:26 PM
DSun
Freshman User
Thanks for your help I'll have to go there and check it out..