Notices
1987 - 1996 F150 & Larger F-Series Trucks 1987 - 1996 Ford F-150, F-250, F-350 and larger pickups - including the 1997 heavy-duty F250/F350+ trucks
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

1995 F-150 Code 173 & Poor Drivability

Search this Thread

Old 01-03-2006, 03:25 PM
omar1746
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
1995 F-150 Code 173 & Poor Drivability

This is my first post on this site which I discovered while searching the web for a solution to an EEC IV code 173. I am ASE certified with a college degreee in Automotive Technology and I am fairly well equipped to work on these systems, but I don't have alot of experience (I was an aircraft mechanic in my first life). I followed all of the steps in the Ford repair manuals and it took me a couple of days. Anyway, I fixed the problem by replacing the only part I could find bad - the PCM. I went through ECU Direct because ford no longer supplies the part. I originally sent it in for R&R ($210), but it turned out that the PCM was unrepairable due to corrupted data in the CPU inside the unit. They ended up sending me a different remanufactured unit for a total cost of $345. I don't know how the data got corrupted, but the truck owner told me that there has always been a slight problem with idle since new, and now the truck runs better than ever. May have been a manufacturing defect that progressively got worse with time. I just thought I would post this in case anyone else was having similar problems. I am going to cut and paste a letter I wrote and sent along with the bad PCM to ECU Direct. Hope this helps....

<O</O
To: Whom it may concern at ECU Direct
<O</O
Subject: Additional Information Regarding ECU R&R Service for Autocraft Direct Confirmation # 87059 with EEC IV OBD I Code 173.
1995 Ford F-150 (Eddie Bauer edition), 5.8L, SFI, California Emission Controls, 4WD, E4OD Automatic Transmission, 104509 Miles, VIN # 1FTEF14H3SNB61314, PCM Part Number F5TF-12A650-AAB
Customer Complaint -