1994.5 - 1997 7.3L Power Stroke Diesel  

Injector Orings/Injector cups?

Search this Thread

Old 11-04-2005, 02:16 AM
68Mercury250Ranger
Laughing Gas
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question Injector Orings/Injector cups?

My friend has an early PSD he calls it a 94, old elctronics? He has black fuel in filter housing, my opinion is the injector orings. Yes I have worked on them before but its been over 5yrs since I worked at the Ford dealer and the cobwebs are starting to form. He had somebody install 3 used injectors about a year ago with no problems. My main question is about injector cups, would they allow compression up to the orings and damage the Orings. He wants my help but I am cautious about doing the Orings without changing the copper/brass cups. Basically don't want to do the job twice! Anyone have an input on this problem.
He's actually considering putting a 6.9 or 7.3NA in its place if this doesn't work. I'm a liscenced truck/coach Tech but haven't done much on the PSD
Thanks in advance for input!

Old 11-04-2005, 06:27 AM
tjbeggs
Post Fiend

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
yes i have done o-rings on all 8 on a number of trucks without replacing the cups. if you are concerned get the cups then do a visual inspection before putting the injectors back in then return the ones you don't need. i don't think compression getting to the o-ring is why they go bad. the compression would have to get past the copper sealing washer at the nozzle of the injector. heat is the biggest factor for the o-rings.

and tell your friend that putting a 6.9 or 7.3na in there would be a big mistake!!!

Old 11-04-2005, 04:46 PM
barebackjake
Postmaster
if you had a bad cup you would be getting oil in the cooling system due to theres coolant on the other side of the cups. the copper washer at the bottom of the injector is the one that keeps the compression out. the injector orings wear out over time. i bet if you just replace the orings you should be good to go.

Old 11-04-2005, 05:55 PM