Dead Miss (Updated)

Search this Thread

Old 08-03-2005, 06:16 PM
exploranger
Freshman User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Dead miss

Hello to all. This is a newbie post, so please bear with me. I have a '99 Ranger 4x4 3.0 flex fuel 72000 miles with a dead miss. I have been running moonshine in it for about 2 months and it has run perfect up til now. Once it started to miss, I got it to a garage and got it hooked up to a diagnostic computer. It shows a dead miss on cyl 4. checked spark, (good) and compression,(good)According to the mechanic it had to be the injector. Took three days to get one through the local NAPA, put it on and all back together, and it still shows a miss on cyl 4. Went through sequence again and have a request for the parts store to get another injector(may take quite some time). In the meantime, is there any way to test for an adequate signal to the injector while the plenum is in place, or to check if it is getting it's signal before putting the plenum back on? Thanks in advance to all who take time to read and/or respond. Ed

99 Ranger
96 Explorer
94 Explorer
90 Jeep Cherokee (kids these days)

Old 08-03-2005, 07:15 PM
Rockledge
Post Fiend
Received 12 Likes on 12 Posts
Welcome to FTE!

First, what did the #4 spark plug look like? Any clues?

The fuel injectors are always "live" with 12V running to them. They are activated when the PCM provides ground to the circuit. The Red (R) wire is the 12V, the other wire is ground to the PCM.

One way to test the circuit is to jump the pins on the injector harness connector with a 12v test lamp (harness disconnected). It should blink while the engine is cranking.

Here's a couple more electrical tests you can try:

CHECKING FUEL INJECTOR HARNESS RESISTANCE
- Disconnect fuel injector harness connector at the suspect fuel injector.
- Measure resistance of VPWR circuit between PCM harness connector pin and the fuel injector harness connector.