Clutch adjustment/gear grind

Search this Thread

Old 07-19-2005, 02:03 PM
Junior Barnes
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Clutch adjustment/gear grind

I'm new to FTE, but impressed with the quality of this site! I have an '87 F150 with a 4.9L and 4 speed. After things warm up I get a lot of gear grind when going from neutral to 2nd, like when starting from a stop light. (1st gear is a granny). My first take was that the pressure plate was not not being depressed enough to release the clutch disc completely, resulting in the gear grind, but after looking around at the clutch mechanism (hydraulic master cylinder to slave cylinder on outside of trans.), nothing jumps out and says "adjust here". I've been called dumb before so go ahead and point out the obvious!

Old 07-19-2005, 02:07 PM
andym
Post Fiend
Received 28 Likes on 28 Posts
There's no adjustment on the hydraulic clutches, so you're right about that.

One common cause is firewall flex. The firewall where the clutch bolts to has a tendency to weaken and flex when you push the clutch in. That will lead to partial clutch engagement, even if the pedal is on the floor.

You also might want to bleed the system, it takes regular brake fluid.

Also change the fluid in the tranny, it takes 80w90 gear oil.

Old 07-19-2005, 02:31 PM
IB Tim
Site Administrator
Received 58 Likes on 30 Posts
...Welcome Junior Barnes, to Ford Truck Enthusiasts! Please read the Guidelines, it will help you to navigate through and understand this site.

We are happy you have chosen the best source for Fords!

Enjoy FTE....and
JOIN CLUB FTE -SUPPORT THE FORUMS!
…..See you on the boards.

Old 07-20-2005, 12:08 AM
Junior Barnes
New User
Andym: Thanks for the response. Give me a day or so and I will try the things you suggested and will report back. Junior Barnes.

Old 07-22-2005, 12:20 AM
Junior Barnes
New User