1948 - 1956 F1, F100 & Larger F-Series Trucks Discuss the Fat Fendered and Classic Ford Trucks

How do you tell if you have a good weld job?

Search this Thread

Old 05-24-2005, 08:03 AM
sancochojoe
Senior User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question How do you tell if you have a good weld job?

How do you know if you have a good weld, especially on the frames.
Do I take a sledge hammer to it, or is it all visual???? The last thing I want
is to be driving down the road in my 51, and a weld cracks.

Old 05-24-2005, 08:51 AM
svooom
Senior User
Hi sancochojoe,
I don't think many people are going to want to touch this one. In my opinion, weld strength ranks #1 on my list of safety concerns when making modifications to my truck. When welding in my ifs crossmember and my 4-link brackets, I tacked them in place and then paid a certified professional welder $200 to weld it together. Money well spent for piece of mind. I think I'm a good welder but I'm not about to put my life, the life of my family, or any of your lives in jeopardy with out knowing for sure.

If your concerned about the quality of your welds, I wouldn't hesitate to pick up the phone and call a professional to come take a look. Slip him a $20 and he'll probabily be happy and honest.

Good luck - Brad

Old 05-24-2005, 09:12 AM
fatfenders56
Cargo Master
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
pro help is always a good idea if you are not sure, and an x-ray is the only way to absolutely tell. The appearance of the weld can tell you a lot or if you look at the back of the parts and can see the ''shadow'' of the heat it will indicate how well it penetrated. Watching the pool as you run the bead is probably the best. Make sure that the top surface of the material is not undercut. Some manuals on welding will give you pictures of right and wrong beads and at least give you a visual to go by. I am sure someone out there can add to this

Old 05-24-2005, 09:50 AM
Randy Jack
Postmaster

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Joe -