1980 - 1986 Bullnose F100, F150 & Larger F-Series Trucks Discuss the Early Eighties Bullnose Ford Truck

brake system hissing constantly

Search this Thread

Old 03-07-2005, 09:44 AM
datchew
Senior User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
brake system hissing constantly

i'm new to these trucks so i don't know if this is normal.
here's the symptoms:

truck normally didn't make that air-hiss sound unless i stepped on the brake pedal. however, today, it started hissing constantly and the hissing actually is reduced when i step on the pedal. when the pedal is released, it goes back to hissing loudly.

any ideas?

Old 03-07-2005, 10:25 AM
felixr
Elder User
relax . . you have a bad brake booster. welcome to the elite club lol
basically, the big round thing behind the master cylinder up against the firewall.
good news: easy to replace(four bolts on firewall inside/under dash and two under the hood) also, not expensive at a junk yard -these rarely go bad so you should have no problem finding one that is working fine. also, any from 80-86 will work. even later years im pretty sure.
bad news: not repairable -just stick to the junkyard and pay under 20 bucks for a used one or go to an autoparts store or a rebuilder and pay upwards of 80-90 bucks for a rebuilt(its up to you really).
no more bad news really. its pretty simple if you are into fixing up your truck on your own.
good luck hope that helps

Old 03-07-2005, 12:15 PM
shortymac83
Senior User
I'd spring the $30-50 bucks to get a new one and never worry about it again.

Old 03-07-2005, 12:18 PM
69 and 85
Elder User
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
While checking out your booster, check out the vac line to it. If the end is stretched or cracked, etc could also be loosing vacuum. Some people cut off the last inch if it is bad ( provided it's long enough), but it is better to just replace it. I've had old vac hoses so bad that they leak in the middle as well as the ends!

Old 03-07-2005, 08:20 PM
datchew
Senior User
thanks guys.